The Grudge…..3

Posted: January 24, 2014 in Guests' Couch, Series
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Grudge

DAY 4

I wake up feeling weak, I run to the bathroom and vomit, I feel so terrible. I start putting our things together. My stomach rumbles, I realize this feeling is familiar. I call the reception, a lady picks up the phone, I ask her if she can help me get a Pregnancy Test Strip and she says she can’t. I would buy one as soon as I get to the airport, I better not be pregnant.

Dele drives us to the airport; he is quiet the whole time. He has still not mentioned my mother. I am equally lost in thoughts. The kids are chatty in the back seat, they seem extremely happy today.

As soon as we get to the airport I enter one of the shops and buy the strip, leave my family and head straight for the restrooms. My hands are shaking as I take a pee, I don’t think I am ready to be pregnant again, not with all this drama. I wait for five minutes. I know even before I look at it, I am pregnant.

I should tell Dele. I rush out and see my husband sitting dejectedly on a seat with his head down. He is crying, he is inconsolable.

“They are gone.” He says.

Without asking, I know he is referring to my kids, for the second time in four days, I faint.

My mum is beside me when I wake up; she’s holding me with one hand, her rosary in the other. I don’t want to know what is going on, I look around and I am at home, in my own bed. I smile, I bet Dele isn’t worrying anymore. Chinedu has done his worst. We can as well go back home and plan from there. My mum tries to recount her experience with the kidnappers to me, can’t she tell that I am not interested. My babies are gone.

I cut her off midsentence, “Where is my husband?” I ask her. She leaves to get him.

As soon as Dele comes in I look at him, he looks ten years older than he did 4 days ago.

“What are we going to do Dele?” I ask.

He says he is talking to some people and that he has it under control. At this point I know he is a joker. I tell him that I need to eat and I leave for the kitchen. Half way there, I realize what I have to do, I pick up my car keys and head for the police station.

I recount my ordeal to the DPO and he can almost not believe my story. He explains that he has to wait for 24 hours before he can begin to treat my children’s case as a missing persons’ case. I am not fazed. I ask him if he also has to wait 24 hours to arrest a murderer. He says no. He can hardly believe what I am implying, neither can I but I want my babies and I will throw anyone under the bus to get them. I drop the address with a threat that I would personally call the Commissioner of police if nothing is done within the hour.

By the time I get back to the car I see 7 missed calls from my husband, I don’t bother calling back. I go straight home. Dele looks so relieved to see me. I tell him I needed some air and I had to take a drive. I can’t think straight, I feel dizzy! I should eat. My mother is busy cooking when I enter the house. I remember she cooks as a form of therapy. I suddenly feel sorry for her. She has been through a lot this week. She was kidnapped, she has no idea why and now her beloved grand children were missing. I realized she would understand more because she had been in the company of these men.

“What were they like mum?” I ask.

“Ehn?” She replied.

I tell her to explain what her time was like with the kidnappers. She tells me that they were nice to her, they said their business was with her son-in-law, she ate thrice a day and had a room to herself. I feel some relief hearing all this.

I was still smiling when I hear a knock on the door, it is the police. They arrest my husband, as he leaves with them, he tells me to call his lawyer. I don’t know what to do so I drive behind them to the station, my mum sitting beside me as I tell her Dele’s story.

Dele has been drilled for hours by the police and I am not sure what he has told them but I know that the police had begun to search for Chinedu.

It’s been two days since my kids disappeared, I am home with my mum, Dele is still in police custody. People have been coming to commiserate with me, bad news travels fast. I even hear that newspapers are carrying my story claiming that they interviewed me, I have not given any interviews, I have cried my eyes out and I am waiting for news about my babies.

I am sleeping when my mum comes into my room; the police commissioner is here to see me. I immediately know something is wrong. I rush to the sitting room and he asks me to sit. He came with two officers, one of them has tribal marks and my mind drifts as I try to decipher what part of the country he is from. The commissioner calls out to me and he tells me they had found Chinedu. What is my business? I almost blurt out, I want my kids. And then I hear him say the worst thing I have ever heard in my life.

“When we got there, we were too late, he had raped and killed the kids.” He said.

“Whose kids?” I shout. I was wailing and crying. I don’t understand, people are holding me, the room is spinning, and my soul and body have separated. I am finished.

 

5 months later

I am seven months along, my tummy is so large, and it’s the only thing that makes me smile. I walk to the car and head for the court. Today, Chinedu and Dele would face the court and we shall finally hear their sides of the story.

My husband is almost unrecognizable when he is brought out and forced into the dock. He has long forgiven me for turning him in. He recounts the events of the night when he killed Chinedu’s dad. He mentions a lot of details that he never mentioned to me. He tells the court how he and his four gang members took turns and raped Chinedu’s mother and sister. He tells the court how he fled and he tries to convince everyone that he is a changed man. I am overwhelm with emotions, I think I am having contractions.

Eventually Chinedu comes out and tells his story of pain and betrayal. He is convinced that Dele knew that it was his family he was attacking, he says he feels no remorse for killing my kids, he tells the court that he enjoyed raping my kids because he could finally cause immeasurable pain to Dele. I cannot bear to listen to him; I get up to leave the court. As I try to walk, my water broke.

“I am having a baby.” I scream. I am rushed to the hospital. An emergency evacuation is scheduled, the baby is still premature. I have not shopped for this child, I am not even sure if I want him/her. I don’t want new responsibilities, I want to kill myself. I am now a laughing stock of all our former friends. It’s with these thoughts I finally drift off as I am rolled in for surgery.

I don’t know how long I was asleep, I wake up startled. The nurse runs to my side.

“How do you feel ma?” she asks.

“I am fine, my body hurts but I am fine.”

She asks if I am ready to see my baby, I say yes. She gets another nurse to help her and they put me on a wheel chair. They roll me to another room. There are two incubators so I ask which one my baby is in, they say both. I could not believe it. Twins. Two boys. My babies.

We have finally come back home. The boys are healthy. They won’t stop eating. Dele has gotten his sentence, 25 years in prison. I don’t know how I feel about that. Chinedu got a life sentence, it won’t bring my babies back but I pray he lives long enough to suffer every pain he put me through.

I am writing Dele a letter, I am thanking him for being a great husband, an amazing liar, a good father and a big pretender. I am not sure if I can forgive him.

I have made my mistakes, I don’t know what I could have done differently. I know I lost my kids and my husband in one week. That’s enough reason to die. But I have chosen to live for my boys.

For these ones I would kill.

***The END***

@duchesskk

www.eccentricaro.tumblr.com

If you interested in getting your work(s) featured then Mail Us

Comments
  1. preshZu says:

    WoW!!!! Dere z nofin as waiting for a story and it comes out opposite of what u intended!!!! Purely Exhilarating and genius…

    Like

  2. @bertokji says:

    An Amazing story, was worth all the wait. You have done well.

    Like

  3. Abikoye Oluwatosin says:

    This is one helluva grudge

    Like

  4. Walt Shakes says:

    I’m horrified. I’m absolutely horrified. What a story.

    Like

  5. Bev says:

    Gosh! Am still shocked. What a story beautiful piece of writing*clapping*

    Like

  6. Isaacola AA says:

    Good job boss,really enjoyed the story

    Like

  7. shimmers says:

    Script writing won’t b a bad idea…kudos.

    Like

  8. Oluwanonso says:

    hmmn…. But is it possible for Dele to be convicted of an offence that was committed over how many years ago??

    Like

  9. miss lious says:

    Wow! I’m speechless! Amazing writeup!

    Like

Hey! Please do Leave a Reply, it helps the writer improve, Thanks.

